Featured Post

You wanna get subversive little boy? Let's get subverrsive, then.

That's right. I'm talking to you, you tiny little pansy playing at righteous outrage and totalitarian politics. You want to stand ou...

"Let no freedom be allowed to novelty, because it is not fitting that any addition should be made to antiquity. Let not the clear faith and belief of our forefathers be fouled by any muddy admixture." -- Pope Sixtus III

Monday, July 17, 2017

Imagine the nerve of the Pope, actually believing in Catholicism!

I can't wait for E.J. "Look! I'm a Catholic!" Dionne, Jr.'s column about this praising Francis and the Vatican hierarchy for sticking to their guns in the face of pressure from the anti-gluten fascists!

Where else could you get a ChristLast headline like the following but The Old Gray Whore?

Vatican Refuses to Go Gluten Free at Communion

The unleavened bread that Roman Catholics use in the celebration of Mass must contain some gluten, even if only a trace amount, according to a new Vatican directive.

Oh, yeah. Brand new. And it totally ignores the Gospel of Darrell which clearly states "He took the gluten free cracker in His hands and gave thanks".

The directive, which was dated June 15 but received significant attention only after it was reported by Vatican Radio on Saturday, affirms an existing policy. But it may help to relieve some of the confusion surrounding church doctrine on gluten, a protein that occurs naturally in wheat and has become the subject of debates over nutrition and regulation.


The issue is especially urgent for people with celiac disease, a gastrointestinal immune disorder that causes stomach pain, diarrhea and weight loss and that can lead to serious complications, or for those with other digestive conditions that make them vulnerable even to small amounts of gluten.
Many other people who do not have celiac disease may nonetheless have a sensitivity or allergy to gluten, and yet others have adopted a gluten-free diet in the belief that it is healthier — although science is far from clear on this point.



In both the United States and the European Union, the description “gluten-free” can be legally applied to foods made with wheat starch from which almost, but not absolutely, all gluten has been removed — the upper limit is 20 parts per million. The Catholic Church will allow bread of this kind to be used for communion.


But it will not allow truly gluten-free altar breads made with rice, potato, tapioca or other flours in place of wheat. (The Church of England has taken a similar position, while some other Christian denominations consider such breads acceptable.)

“The confusion can be great when these ‘breads’ are advertised as gluten-free alongside what are described as gluten-free but are in fact low-gluten altar breads,” according to the Catholic Church in England and Wales. “The confusion can also be the cause of great upset both to those Catholics who are allergic to gluten and to those who minister to them.”

The new instructions — given in a letter to bishops from the Vatican’s Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments — said that the confusion had worsened because communion breads had become widely available, with varying standards of marketing and labeling.


“Until recently, it was certain religious communities who took care of baking the bread and making the wine for the celebration of the eucharist,” the congregation said. “Today, however, these materials are also sold in supermarkets and other stores, and even over the internet.”


The new Vatican directive affirms a policy first set out in 2003 by the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, a body led at the time by Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, who later became Pope Benedict XVI. That policy said that “low-gluten hosts (partially gluten-free) are valid matter, provided they contain a sufficient amount of gluten to obtain the confection of bread without the addition of foreign materials and without the use of procedures that would alter the nature of bread.”


It also approved the use of mustum — a grape juice in which fermentation has begun but has been suspended before the alcohol content (typically less than 1 percent) reaches the levels found in most table wines — as a substitute for communion wine for worshipers who could not tolerate alcohol.
The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops has certified a handful of manufacturers of low-gluten breads and mustum for that purpose. It recommends that those who cannot tolerate alcohol or gluten arrange to buy acceptable alternatives through their parishes.


Parishioners who cannot tolerate even a trace amount of gluten should receive “wine only,” the bishops’ conference says, even if they would normally receive bread but not wine.



Remember the good old days when folks with gluten allergies would consider it a cross to bear and would offer up their suffering in reparation for sin?

Anybody?

Anybody at all...

TheChurchMilitant: Sometimes anti-social, but always anti-fascist since 2005.

No comments:

About Me

My photo
First of all, the word is SEX, not GENDER. If you are ever tempted to use the word GENDER, don't. The word is SEX! SEX! SEX! SEX! For example: "My sex is male." is correct. "My gender is male." means nothing. Look it up. What kind of sick neo-Puritan nonsense is this? Idiot left-fascists, get your blood-soaked paws off the English language. Hence I am choosing "male" under protest.

Labels

Blog Archive